“Living an Agape Life”


Living an Agape Life
Bishop Houston’s “Word of the Month”

Beloved,
The word Agape (agápē) is a Greek word translated to mean love.
It’s the highest form of love, especially brotherly love, charity. It is the kind of love God has for man and man has for God. It’s an “UNCONDITIONAL adoration.”
If we’re going to live in “Agape” love, we have to learn to forgive one another.
The Bible says, “Do not let the sun go down on your anger, but instead, forgive. And above all things, put on love.”
 *That means: above having your own way, above your own agenda,
choose to put on love.

The apostle Paul prayed in Ephesians 3:17 that we would be “rooted and established in love so that we would have power together with all the saints.”

Beloved,
when we choose to walk in love, we have the power of God in our lives,
as well as healthier relationships. We should always look for the best in each other. That’s one of the things I love about Lady Donece “Niecy” Houston. I used to think that she didn’t see the things that people did wrong or were doing to her. Then I realized: It’s not that she doesn’t see them;
she chooses not to focus on them.
That’s what Jesus taught. One day a group of Pharisees brought a woman to Him who had been caught in adultery. The Law said that she should be stoned, but Jesus didn’t condemn her. Instead, He said, “Those of you without sin, go ahead;
you throw the first stone.”

Cast the First Stone*The woman’s accusers began to look within themselves.
Then, they walked away.

Friends,
we can all throw rocks and point out each other’s faults, but we need to make allowances for one another. We don’t know what some people have been through. We don’t know the pain and heartache they’ve experienced.
When the woman’s accusers had all slipped away, Jesus told her,

“Neither do I condemn you; go your way; from now on sin no more.”

Beloved,
let’s learn to walk in “Agape” unconditional love and see the best in everyone.
A house divided will fall.
That’s why it’s so important to keep peace in your home and in your family.
Be the first to apologize. “Be quick to forgive.”

Someone once asked me If Lady Donece “Niecy” and I argue. Yes, we disagree, but you can’t argue with someone who won’t argue with you, and Lady Donece won’t argue!!! She’s made up her mind that we’re going to walk in love, because that is where the power is. At times, Lady Donece “Niecy” and I have said, “All right, we can’t see eye to eye on this, so we’re just going to agree to disagree.”

I can’t help it if she’s wrong sometimes!!!

When Lady Donece “Niecy and I got married, I like my own way, and when I didn’t get it, I wasn’t happy. Then God spoke clearly to me: Bishop Houston, if you don’t change the way you’re acting, you’re going to change the woman you married.

Well, that got my attention, because I didn’t want to change Lady Donece “Niecy’s” personality.
I love Lady Donece “Niecy” (Unconditionally). That’s why I married her.
I knew that I had to be willing to make some changes.

In many relationships, after time, people neglect to walk in Agape
(unconditional) love.
One day, they realize that their hearts have changed. You hear it all the time:
“We just grew apart.”

Lady Donece “Niecy” and I remind ourselves often that God brought us together. He’s got a good plan for our marriage. You need to remind yourself that God has put that person in your life, and He’s got good things in store. If you will do your part by being kind, respecting one another, treating each other the way you want to be treated, God will do His part, and you can live in Agape love!!!

God Bless You All.

Thank you for visting. Please leave your comments below. I would love to hear from you

